Home

Her room… My sanctuary.

Wow. We finally did it!!! Adding a blog to our brand has been on my list of to-do’s all summer! As the first day of fall has come and gone…. I was determined to get this going!

And the first thing to share? My love of creating, decorating, DIY-ing and taking something from past and giving it life again. All of these things were incorporated when I got to put together Ashlyn’s nursery. It’s a place for her to sleep, play, grow, read and so much more. AND,  it’s this momma’s sanctuary. My place of serenity. Where I give her a bubba, rock her to sleep and sing her all sorts of songs that are made up on the spot. (I’m the worst.. I know hardly any lullabies except Twinkle Little Star…. but I am amazing at making up random, cute, and absolute nonsense songs!)

NOW I LAY ME DOWN TO SLEEP

The first project I took on when I found out we were having a girl… was the crib bedding. I searched high and low the perfect bumper that would fit with vision. And, of course, impossible. So I made my own with the help of my incredibly talented grandma. I bought an IKEA standard white bumper and covered it with this beautiful vintage feel pattern. Added some satin ties… and voila! We also retro fitted a beautiful waffle print bed skirt to line the bottom. It turned out amazing!

img_7303

Along with making my own pieces, I add little bits from the past. Featured above: my own baby blanket. I found it tucked away at my dad’s in our old family cedar chest, and it went just perfect in Ashlyn’s room.

img_7275

The dresser: an old vintage find from Craigslist. We were so limited on space in this room. And finding the perfect dresser had its challenges! This beauty popped up and I was beyond thrilled. I had my husband repaint it and lightly distress the edges. I also found some great custom knobs at a local restoration store in North Vancouver.

Dresser: Craigslist find. Chair: Ikea (husband removed legs and mounted to a swivel rocker) Knit Blanket: Handmade by Great Grandma.

THE LITTLE DETAILS

Its all in the small details. And I love the all the small things that bring this room together.

Shelf: Winners. Gold foil heart: Kardz Couture Baby photos: Ashylns’ grandmas. Birds: designed by myself, birch branch decorated with silk flowers and stuffed birds.

birdies

We hope you enjoyed reading our first post and learning a little more about the people behind the brand! As promised, here’s the online discount code BLOG15

Danielle xx

Leave a Reply

