Home · Kiddo Fun

Lovely Valentine Cookies

This was on my bake day bucket list. I’m sure we’ve all seen these amazing cookies everywhere by incredibly talented bakers and I’m in awe of them! I always wanted to play around with decorative icing. So, first try…. FAR FROM PERFECT, but I’m super proud of them and my kids think they’re awesome, and so does my mother in law… so its a win!

photo-2017-02-05-10-45-56-am

photo-2017-02-05-10-48-21-am

So on a snowed in Saturday I got my bake on. The goal was simply to try flooding. I watched a You Tube video last week and thought, how hard can it be??? Well, it’s not easy! As my goal was the decorating, and I had a little 2hr window while the little miss napped, I bought Betty Crocker sugar cookie mix and kept that easy peasy.

I wanted to do step by step photos, but seriously, if you all saw my kitchen and the absolute mayhem (caused by 3 piping bags with holes in them), it simply wasn’t worth posting! And so, ill share the recipes! You can go make your own mess.

photo-2017-02-05-10-48-56-am

Again, not perfect! The edges are rough and we definitely had an air bubble, or two, or three! This has inspired me to keep trying this technique! I’ve learned so far, it must be about the perfect consistency and I’m sure there are some incredible bakers out there that have lots of tips…. so comment below! I’d love to hear your tricks!

For me, I used a simple Royal Icing recipe for the outline and just thinned it out with water to do the flooding.

Royal Icing:

3 c. icing sugar, 2 egg white, 1 tsp lemon, 1 tsp vanilla. Mix until peaks form.

Flood Icing: slowly add water little a time until it slowly drips off a spoon. Let stand 20mins to help reduce bubble.

I used a piping bags for the outline with Royal Icing and filled squeeze bottles with the flood icing. The hard part was doing all the icing, 2 consistencies, in 3 different colors. That got messy. And all working as quickly as I could so it wouldn’t dry out.

 

photo-2017-02-05-10-45-36-am

 

The fun part. Adding the details. Not so simply, filling cookie with one color, then adding drops of an accent color. I did polka dots, a herringbone design and hearts. Using a scribing tooth (aka toothpick) I pulled the end all the way through for the herringbone and through each individual polka dot to make the hearts. See this You Tube video for my inspiration! She makes it look so easy!!!

I’m looking forward to trying this again real soon! For now, these little munchkins enjoy momma’s little experiment! Hope everyone gets to enjoy some sweet treats this Valentines Day!

Danielle xx

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

